Skip to main content
Belmont University | Belief in Something Greater

Registration Errors

Class registration errors are listed at the bottom of the screen after clicking ‘submit’ in BannerWeb. Students should review Classfinder and choose other course options if one of the following errors are received during registration:

  • Class restriction - course is restricted by classification
  • Closed - no available seats in the course
  • Co-requisite - must register for two courses simultaneously to enroll
  • Degree/major restriction - course is restricted by degree or major
  • Duplicate - must receive approval to register for multiple classes with same course rubric and number
  • Link - required to register and remain enrolled in two courses simultaneously
  • Pre-requisite - course requirements not satisfied to enroll in the class
  • Time - class meeting time overlaps with another course


Students with exceptional cases may petition the academic department or instructor for a class override before the registration and drop/add period end. Upon approval for a class override, the student must register for the class through BannerWeb during registration.